Skip to content

Culpeper’s Perennial Farm

April 20, 2009

april-18-2009-5I finally made it out to Morningside Farm & Nursery this weekend for my first (of many) visit of the year, and got to see what they’ve been growing. It’s good to know that they’ve got a great selection of annuals, perennials and herbs, even with the uncertainty everyone in our business is feeling this year.

april-18-2009-81

Views like this… I must have the same longing expression as Augustus Glump, when he first walked through the doors of Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory.

april-18-2009-112

I just completed a boulder retaining wall that’s going to include a perfect home for a number of succulents just like these. I can’t wait!

In terms of timing when to plant perennials, George said that he’s now been leaving the plants on the benches, and not worrying to much unless the forecast calls for a serious frost. So, while I’m still going to wait to set out my tomatoes and peppers, I’m going to start planting herbs and perennials. It’s supposed to be 87 next Saturday! We may not be completely out of the woods yet, but I’m guessing we’re close. I’ll chance it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2009 1:06 pm

    Morningside is one of my favorite nurseries. Not too many edible (I start most of mine from seeds anyway) but lots of herbs, sedums, tropical & flowering perennials at a reasonable price. And Karen & George are so knowledgeable and friendly.

    Don’t miss their plant swap.

  2. virginialandscaping permalink*
    May 25, 2009 3:25 pm

    It’s funny, one of my clients brought home a big pot and asked me what I’d do with it. I said, “I’d take it to Karen at Morningside and say ‘Karen, make it pretty!’ and be done with it.” So, she had me do that, and the arrangement that Karen did for me was amazing. I’ll post pictures soon.

    I’ll keep an eye out for the swap. It might be worth it just to find a better home for my hakonechloa, which has looked pitiful since day one in my yard.

Leave a Reply

