Skip to content

Confessions of a Pro

March 29, 2009

birch-tree-buds

Whenever I meet someone new and we get to talking about what I do, I get the same well-intentioned comment: “Oh, you must have the prettiest yard on the block!” If only that were true. During the best time of the year to work on my yard, I’m in everyone else’s yard!

This year, though, will be different. Here’s my list of spring resolutions:

  • I will aerate my lawn areas, topdress with compost, and overseed ASAP. The goal is to choke out the weeds.
  • I will ONLY mow with my reel mower this year. It’s absolutely amazing how much healthier it keeps my grass.
  • I will mulch well, but with wood chips. It’s an experiement.
  • The compost pile will get turned regularly, and I will make sure it gets hot enough to kill weed seeds and pathogens.
  • I will experiment with new plants. I’ve blocked out “trial areas” in various parts of the yard, so as I see something that sounds promising, I have a home already selected.
  • I will keep up with the weeds.

This is shaping up to be a great year in the garden, and the huge variety of herbs, veggies and fruits we’re trying have me really excited. Now it’s just a matter of maintenance. This is why I try to design low-maintenance landscapes for my clients in Virginia: I know how limited my free time is, and I know the shortcuts!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kevinthegarden permalink
    March 31, 2009 6:08 am

    Dude…Ditto here. If only I could have one day in my yard….Instead of 20 min here, 40 min there. I would love a complete twilight to dusk time in my yard. The only thing I get thats ahead of you is I stopped flipping that compost heap years ago. I compost layer everything now. Greens, browns, greens, occasional layer of thin manure. It’s 41 degrees now, and I see some “steam” coming out of my beds. This coming weekend, I think we will have accomplished 3 hrs of extra daylight. It will be November soon…Too soon.. Veggie gardens are going nuts here as well. My people are really trying to achieve some sort of savings, even those who were only tomato/radish types, have done some cold crops. Gonna be interesting.

  2. virginialandscaping permalink*
    March 31, 2009 7:00 am

    The sea change in peoples’ attitudes is amazing, isn’t it? The next drawing in the queue is for a client who wants a sprawling garden and orchard, terraced into a slope, with a winding path flanked by berry bushes. I can’t wait- it’s going to be amazing!

Leave a Reply

