Skip to content

Can I Get Excited About Spring Yet?

March 18, 2009

dscf0001

I was out buying plants yesterday, and this block of plants at my wholesaler made me quite happy. Spring is almost here! When I dropped off my newly acquired plants (including a weeping Blue Atlas Cedar that I’m quite infatuated with), I made a walk-through of the property to check on last year’s installed plants. Everything has big, fat buds and is ready to pop. I should have some great photos to share over the next few weeks.

On a related note, the forsythia are starting to bloom around the area. If you’re putting down a pre-emergent, now’s the time. If you want to go the organic route, you can use corn-gluten meal. It has the added benefit of being a good source of nitrogen for your plants, but for that same reason you can’t apply it too late, or else you’re feeding the weeds!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

