Skip to content

Friday Loose Ends

January 30, 2009

Don’t let the post title fool you- there is some GREAT stuff to talk about today. Honestly, it’s more that I’m at loose ends. MJ and I did our first spin class this morning, and while I’m totally hooked, I’m also a little spent. I can’t wait to go again!

First and foremost,  someone sent me the following alert from the Piedmont Rail Coalition:

I just wanted to alert you to a budget amendment that was introduced by Senator Wampler that could kill our new service from Lynchburg to Washington, DC.  With funding expected to be approved in February, this service could be launched as soon as Fall 2009. 
 
 The Wampler amendment states “It is the intent of the General Assembly that no Commonwealth Transportation Funds shall be allocated for funding the construction of any segment of the TransDominion Express, or like project, until such time as funding for all sections of the corridor from Bristol to Washington D.C/Richmond is included within the Statewide Rail Plan.”
 
Virginians for High Speed Rail (VHSR) Executive Director Danny Plaugher and I traveled to the General Assembly yesterday to begin the process of informing the Senators on the Finance Committee about this “all or nothing” budget amendment. However, we need your help, and we need it now!  
According to the PRC, passage of this amendment will kill our new service and jeopardize new passenger rail service across the state. You may wonder, so what? Rail projects like the Lynchburg-DC line are an important step towards improving rail commuting in Virginia. Right now, I know several people who live in Culpeper and work in DC metro. Their daily routine involves driving into Manassas to catch the VRE, then taking rail into the city. If there was a commuter line straight from Culpeper to DC, not only could we get more cars off the road, but think about how much more attractive Culpeper would be to commuters. We all want to see our home values rise back up; that’ll take real action, and decisions that make our great town more attractive to potential buyers. So call your rep in the state legislature and let him or her know that this issue is important to you.

Second, friend of Revolutionary Gardens Chef Shawn Kramer-Sisson’s first column appeared in the Culpeper Star-Exponent. The CSE doesn’t appear to have the link up yet, but I’ll edit this post once it is. Or go buy a copy! It’s fifty cents, and then you not only get a hard copy of her column, but you get materials for sheet-mulching (which I’ll talk about in a later post). That’s what I call win-win.

Third, if you’re planning a vegetable garden this spring, be sure you order your seeds soon. According to industry sources, demand for seeds went through the roof last year and is expected to be even higher this year. I’m a bit behind the eight-ball on our seeds myself, and at this point I’m doubting I’ll get my hands on the Green Zebra heirloom tomatoes I want. Don’t let this happen to you! If you need help planning your garden, I’d love to schedule a consultation with you.
That’s all for now. Have a great weekend and enjoy the amazing weather and the big game!
 
 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

