Skip to content

Updates

July 24, 2008

First the updates. I’ve been seriously remiss in keeping up with this blog, but I have valid reasons excuses! Up until July, I ran my two design businesses in addition to holding down a full-time job as a designer for a design/build in Northern VA. July 2nd, I was told that due to the slow economy they were out of money for my position, and my last day would be… July 3rd. The intervening three weeks have been exciting, to say the least. I’m very blessed that I’ve been building my businesses over the last few years, I’ve had the moral support of family, friends, and my wife (once she was done panicking), and that this change happened during the busy season.

What amazes me the most is how much this has reignited my passion for what I do. I’m a designer because I believe what I do is important: creating healthy, functional spaces that work, and educating my clients on how to care for their landscapes. So that’s why the posts have been non-existent, and Ben- that’s why the compost bin is still a stack of sticks in the backyard. I’ve been designing, estimating, writing contracts, working on my website, advertising, and meeting with potential clients. My happiest moment was probably with my most recent client. When I asked her what it was about my ad that prompted her to call me, she said “I liked your work, and you said that you do it without chemicals. That’s important to me.”  I knew right there that yes, I’m doing the right thing.

I have some pretty cool projects coming up; I plan on using this space to start sharing some of my installs, as well as my thoughts on the industry. And I swear to you, I’ll write more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

