Skip to content

On Maintenance

May 10, 2008

For the better part of the last year, I’ve waivered back and forth on the issue of providing maintenance services. On the one hand, I have a growing design practice with clients in Virginia and Southern New England, and the demands that come from that. On the other hand, there’s no such thing as a 100% turn-key, finished landscape. Maybe the stepping stones function better if we shift the pathway to the right a few feet, or maybe now that the tree has filled out we need to move the uplight farther back. Perennials will always need divided and moved, and shrubs will always need pruned. And no matter how many hours I spend working the details out on paper, sometimes I get into the field and realize that your astilbe will look better in another spot. It happens.

So after much debate, I’ve decided to take the plunge. I’m now offering landscape maintenance services- cleanups, mulching, edging, pruning, planting, and more. After spending several years landscaping from my desk, I’ve realized I’m missing out on the magic of landscaping. A garden is never truly finished; there’s always one more tweak you can do to make it better. I want to be part of that again.

That, and I have to be honest: it’s fun out there. You have to love what you’re doing, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

